Powered by DitDat

The Carnton Novels

Southern romance and real Civil War history set at Franklin, Tennessee's beloved Carnton Plantation


Christmas at Carnton, a novella, introduces a brand new four-book series—The Carnton Novels. Set against the backdrop and history of the Carnton Plantation in Franklin, Tennessee, Christmas at Carnton is a story of hope renewed and faith restored at Christmas.

With This Pledge —the first full-length Carnton novel—releases January 8, 2019. From the pages of history and the personal accounts of those who endured the Battle of Franklin, Tamera Alexander weaves the real-life love letters between Captain Roland Ward Jones and Miss Elizabeth Clouston into a story of unlikely romance first kindled amid the shadows of war.

Books 2 and 3 are scheduled to release in 2020.

Welcome to The Carnton Novels page

When I first visited Carnton in Franklin (a suburb 20 minutes south of Nashville) many years ago, I knew I wanted to incorporate the stories of the people who had lived and worked at Carnton and who fought in the Civil War at the Battle of Franklin—both the Union and Confederate Armies. These amazing real men and women shaped their war-torn country in lasting and powerful ways.

I hope you enjoy this new series as much as I'm enjoying bringing it to you. If you ever get to Nashville, please set aside 2-3 hours to visit Carnton Plantation, an important site rich in American history.

Christmas at Carnton, a novella
With This Pledge, Book 1 (January 2019)
Books 2 and 3 (2020)

Visit Carnton in Franklin, Tennessee

Facebook Live Chat!

Facebook LIVE chat party for Christmas at Carnton's release (with my daughter Kelsey)

This picture pretty up sums up the comedy of errors the evening turned out to be—but what fun you all were! Thanks for joining us!